Learning together, working together
Knowledge Network will be trading in Australia under the trademark KnowNet.
ęGlobal Internet Access 19 October 1996
List of entries
Names of schools
St Davids Marist College
2nd Place Jeppe High School for Boys
3rd Place St. Johns
Bishop Bavin
Greenside High School
Jeppe High School for Boys
Sandown High School
St Davids Marist College
St. Johns






Cyber-designers outside Microsoft after briefing by K-Net and Microsoft. Training, support and competition administration by K-Net. Prizes by Microsoft and Compaq Computers.

Schools web page design competition

In the face of fiece competition from South Africa's best cyber designers, the St Davids Marist College's team won this year's Microsoft Web Page Design Competition.

Co-sponsored by Microsoft, The Star SOHO Live Expo, Global Internet Access, K-Net and Compaq Computers, 6 finalists battled it out before a panel of judges consisting of Michael Jackson of Radio 702, Kathy Gibson of Netmaster Africa, Rob Katz of Microsoft and Martyn Samuels of PC Format.

Kathy Gibson from Netmaster Africa commented, "Judging was extremely difficult as the web site entries were of a very high standard throughout." Her views were echoed by the other judges as well as the sponsors.

Announced two months ago, approximately 50 school teams from both primary and high schools in Gauteng and Cape Town entered the competition. Three teams of five judges each from Microsoft, K-Net and Global Internet Access spent the past 72 hours adjudicating the entries to arrive at the shortlist of 6 finalists.

They were: Bishop Bavin, Greenside High School, Jeppe High School for Boys, Sandown High School, St Davids Marist College and St. Johns Team 2.

The final judging took place in the Compaq Interactive Theatre at the Expo where tensions ran high as Michael Jackson built up the excitement of hundreds of onlookers while the panel surfed the sites making their final decisions.

The winner: St. Davids Marist College! The first runner-up was Jeppe High School for Boys, while the second runner-up was St. Johns, Team 2. The sponsors would like to take this opportunity to congratulare the winning teams.

List of School Entries
1996 National Web-site Design Competition


Adlalaar High School

Parktown Boys High

Alberton High

Pridwin Prep School

Aurora College

Primrose Hill

Auckland Park

Queens High

Benoni High

Redhill School

Bishop Bavin High

Rivonia Primary

Boskop Primary

Roedean School SA

Buccleuch Primary

Sacred Heart College

Bryandale Primary

Sagewood Education Centre

Constantia Kloof Primary

Sandown High

Crawford College

Sandringham High

Daleview Primary

South Hills Primary

Delta Park High

Springs Boys High

Emmarentia Primary

St. Benedict's

Ferndale High

St. David Marist College

Floria High School

St. John's

Heuwelland Primere Skool

St. John's College

Hoerskool Jeugland

St. Marys

Jeppe Boys High

St. Peter's Prep

Jeppe Girls High

St. Stithians High

Kalk Bay Primary

St. Stithians Prep

King David Linksfield

St. Theresa's Convent

King David Sandton

St. Theresa's Convent Primary

King David Victory Park

The Glen High

Kloofwater Intermediate

Tom Newby

Krugersdorp High

Tores Emes

Laerskool Gustav Preller

Vorentoe High School

Marian College, Linmeyer

Westridge High School

Montrose Primary

Yeshiva College



Copyrightę 1994-2009 Knowledge Network« (PTY) Limited
All rights reserved. Information subject to change without prior notice.
Any information submitted online via the web site (http://www.knowledgenetwork.co.za) or by email will not be made available to any third party outside of Knowledge Network«.
Website www.knowledgenetwork.co.za Email info@knowledgenetwork.co.za
Date of update: 18 February 2009